Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Department of Surgery

William H. Pearce, MD, Vascular Surgery Student Research Award

pearce-2.jpgThrough the generous support of the Joseph B. & Marjorie M. Lanterman Endowed Research and Education Fund in the Division of Vascular Surgery at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, we are offering 12-month mentored research experience is being offered for undergraduate and medical students to perform clinical or basic science research.

The goal of this program is to encourage the development of future surgeon-scientists by immersing awardees in intensive research experiences at an early yet critical time in their professional development.

This award honors Dr. William H. Pearce, a renowned vascular surgeon, scientist, and educator at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine.

Dr. Pearce’s investigative interests ranged broadly, and included cell and molecular mechanisms of aneurysm formation, gene and stem cell therapy for critical limb ischemia, and clinical outcomes of interventional procedures. Education and leadership were central to Dr. Pearce’s work. Some of his most impactful contributions include:

1994-1995Program Director of the Vascular Surgery Fellowship
1998-2010Chief of the Division of Vascular Surgery
2001-2002Served as President of the American Association for Vascular Surgery
2004-2010Served as Chairman of the American Vascular Association
2009Established the NIH-funded Vascular Surgery Scientist Training Program
2014Inducted to the Teaching Hall of Fame at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine


Award recipients will perform research projects under the guidance of a faculty mentor selected from vascular and/or cardiovascular researchers at Northwestern University. Recipients will receive close faculty mentorship, integration with like-minded peers, exposure to career development activities, and present their findings at a national or regional meeting and at the Department of Surgery Research Conference.

Award Details

  • 1- year commitment of full-time research (35-40 hours per week)
  • $20,000 stipend in equal installments bi-annually after 6 and 12 months
  • Awards will be given based on candidates’ interest, commitment, and demonstrated ability
  • 1 awardee per year


Interested applicants can access the application here



To download the application, click here

For additional information, please contact Jan Goldstein at or 312-926-7775.

Deadline: April 15, 2019

Program Director:

Mark Eskandari, MD
Chief and Program Director, Division of Vascular Surgery
The James S.T. Yao, MD, PhD, Professor of Surgery