Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Department of Surgery


The Division of Thoracic Surgery contributes to education at Feinberg and through the McGaw Medical Center of Northwestern University.

Learn more about our Thoracic Surgery Clerkship, as well as the six-year, ACGME-accredited Thoracic Surgery - Integrated Residency Program, including curriculum overview and application information, via the department's Education section.

 Thoracic Surgery - Integrated Residency

The six-year integrated program in Thoracic Surgery was initially approved by the ACGME Residency Review Committee for Thoracic Surgery in 2010 and accepted its first resident in 2011. This makes Northwestern one of the earlier programs of this type in the country. The goal of the program is to produce excellent cardiac and thoracic surgeons by combining intensive experience in cardiac and thoracic surgery with carefully selected experiences in general surgery and related disciplines.

Learn more about the program below.

Thoracic Surgery Fellowship 

The three-year ACGME Accredited Thoracic Surgery Fellowship program at Northwestern has been training leaders in thoracic surgery since 1976. The goal of the program is to produce excellent cardiac and thoracic surgeons by combining intensive operative experience in core cardiac and thoracic surgical procedures with high volume exposure to cutting edge techniques and technologies including endovascular aortic surgery, robotic surgery, interventional airway procedures, state of the art ventricular assist devices and transplantation.

Learn more about the program below.

Lung Transplant Fellowship (non-Accredited)

The Division of Thoracic Surgery at Northwestern is offering an advanced fellowship in Lung Failure and Complex Thoracic Surgeries. This two-year program will focus primarily on lung transplantation, mechanical respiratory support (ECMO), and conventional surgeries for lung failure, including lung volume reduction. The training will include all aspects of lung transplantation and the fellow will acquire the skills to lead a lung failure program. The fellow will have an optional three-month research elective to pursue clinical or basic science research projects.

The Thoracic Surgery Divsion at Northwestern performs over 1,000 thoracic surgeries annually. With our integrated interventional pulmonary and end-stage respiratory disease programs, this fellowship will offer a broad training in lung failure.

This fellowship is available to individuals who have successfully completed a cardiothoracic surgery residency/fellowship and are eligible for medical licensure in the State of Illinois. For international applications, an ECFMG certification is required.

Interested candidates should send these required documents: CV, USMLE results/ ECFMG Certification, Certification of completion of Thoracic/Cardiothoracic Training, ABTS certification/eligible OR equivalent.

Contact Us

Ankit Bharat, MD
Program Director, Advanced Lung Fellowship
Surgical Director, Lung Transplantation

Housestaff Research Portal

Feinberg has the infrastructure and resources to assist McGaw trainees interested in conducting scientific research. Visit our Housestaff Research Portal to learn more.